Learning To Say No

Overwhelmed and stressed
Why can’t I say no?
When I get the courage
I have instant regret.
Do I disappoint? Have I let you down?
I have an ache in my side
My head starts to spin.
That voice inside condemning my decisions.

But, I need a break

I need a void
I need the stillness of no expectations
Perhaps one day I’ll understand
What it means to relax,
What it means to feel at ease
But as of now, I’ll continue
releasing the same amount of energy
just by overthinking things
then I would have if I just said yes.

Leave a Reply

