Fleeting Joy

my heart aches
i can’t seem to surrender
i want to give it all away

but my mind won’t let me
i hold on too tightly
to so many things I could never change

joy is fleeting
slipping through my fingers
it’s like trying to catch water

most will fall on the ground
and evaporate by heat
and so the cycle starts again

as it raises into the sky
forming together
so I wait underneath this cloud

with my face turned up towards the sky
i anticipate the rain
hoping this time the joy will stay caught

and I’ll be drenched.

Leave a Reply

